I’d like to challenge everyone to respond with their own story, and/or post their own challenge. I’ll start:

I was around 8 years old and spending the day alone at the ice rink. It was crowded on the ice, and there were puddles of water in low-lying spots. I tripped and fell in one of those puddles, landing hard on my knee. Skaters streamed past me, I was soaked in freezing water, I couldn’t get up, and no one was stopping.


Finally, a matronly Mexican lady stopped and helped me get up and off the ice. I was crying, my knee hurt so badly. She didn’t speak a word of English and I didn’t speak a word of Spanish, but somehow she got my phone number out of me, and she got someone to call my mom and tell her to come get me. Then she sat with me for 45 minutes while I waited for mom to arrive. I’ll never forget that.

