I’d gotten a bounty of home-grown tomatoes and Thai hot peppers, so this recipe I found online seemed like a perfect solution. Also used home-grown basil and oregano, and the salt is made here, so the only things from the store were the onion, garlic, lime juice, and cumin.

Fresh Homemade Salsa Verde???????????????????????????????

Ingredients:

3 cups coarsely chopped tomatoes (I can’t be bothered to peel them)

2 cups assorted hot peppers, seeds and pith removed (Since my little Thai peppers are SO wicked, I used only about 1/4 cup)

1 yellow onion, coarsely chopped

6 cloves garlic, peeled

2 TBSP cilantro (I used basil instead)

2 tsp dried oregano (I used fresh)

1.5 tsp salt

.5 tsp cumin

1/4 cup cider vinegar OR 3 TBSP lime juice (I opted for the latter)

???????????????????????????????

Process the tomatoes coarsely in a blender.

???????????????????????????????

Set aside.

???????????????????????????????

Split open peppers and remove seeds and pith. These contain nearly all of the heat.

???????????????????????????????

Look at all these seeds!

???????????????????????????????

Process all other ingredients in blender until smooth.

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

Add tomatoes and pulse to just combine.

???????????????????????????????

Transfer to canning jars and wipe lids clean.

???????????????????????????????

Add lids to just past finger tightness. Process in a boiling water bath for 10-20 minutes.

???????????????????????????????

